I have been writing almost every day since 1998. I started keeping a journal when I was 9 and continue writing in it today. In my 12 years of journaling, I have watched my writing skills evolve.

It is easy for me to write in a journal everyday because I enjoy writing. Journaling allows me to put emotions, thoughts and experiences into words. It is not always easy to find the right words or phrasing to describe a moment in time, but when I do it is rewarding. Finding the perfect word always feels like an accomplishment.

I enjoy writing because it is more permanent than the spoken word. Unless a recording device is used, all spoken words disappear immediately after they are uttered. Anything written is automatically preserved for anyone to see. I have written in 41 journals which allow me to read about my own history. Thoughts and experiences I had years ago are preserved in the pages of my diary and the words will still be there years from now as well.

As a shy person, writing offers me more freedom than the spoken word. I have a difficult time talking in front of people and my anxiety makes it hard to find the right words because I feel pressured. Writing allows me time to think of proper sentence structure and vocabulary. It also lets me express my opinions without the stress of talking in front of strangers. Since I am so quiet, I feel that writing is my only means to be heard and have a voice in this world.

I believe journaling has given me a talent in writing because it allows me to practice the craft. So far, I have had an article published in the St. Louis Review and I had a poem published in a book of student poetry. I have also written several articles for Lindenwood’s Legacy. Though I am a graphic design major, writing will always be a part of my life. I would like to design page layouts for a magazine which might give me the chance to write articles as well. I also plan on continuing my daily journaling because each day brings something worth writing about.

